This time of year is overwhelming.  I am technically a 2nd year teacher although I have two more years under my belt as an intern teacher and a year before that subbing almost daily.  One would think I’d have my schedule a bit better under control.

But, I don’t.  I really, really don’t. (And the fact that the rest of my 4th grade team, both experienced teachers, are in a similar state is little comfort at this point.)

I feel as if I’m running on a treadmill that is set just a bit faster than I can comfortably run.  Constant catch-up.  The very minute I feel like I’ve got things under control, I forget something or am late with something or something new gets tossed my way.

Or worst of all, I run out of time on a staff meeting morning and don’t get my coffee.  And, I spend the rest of the day being the grumpiest teacher on the planet while simultaneously beating myself up for being so grumpy.

The little joys of teaching are without number.

Mantra:  I love my job.  I love my jog.  I love my job.

