Our first week was a survived quite nicely, thank you.  As I mentioned, my students are very sweet and very eager to please.  They are particularly concerned about making sure I’m happy and that they are doing their jobs.  We accomplished a lot this week.  Academic highlights included:

  • teaching a lot of procedures
  • starting our read-a-loud book, The Sisters Grimm
  • reading The Relatives Came by Cynthia Rylant as a way to get the kids starting writing about a trip they have taken.  We create a timeline and then convert the timeline to an outline and then we start writing.
  • completed a multiple intelligences survey
  • completed our diagnostic math placement test
  • did some team building and getting to know each other activities

I’m feeling very optimistic about this year.  There are worries, of course.  But I think we’re going to have a fun year.

On a personal note, I’m very pleased about the way that I’m managing to keep a real balance between home and school so far this year.  It was a goal last year and I was somewhat successful at it last year.   I’m going to keep working on it this year.  Having a family helps me keep that goal clealy in mind.  But, it’s not easy.

I do, however, have my pretty toenails to keep me on track!

